Contact Us

  • Opening Hours

    Monday and Tuesday, bar only open from 3pm 6.30 pm (no dinner service)

    Open - Wednesday to Sunday for dinner, 6 pm to late.

    Open for lunch & dinner see Poppies Bistro


    Name: Upwey-Belgrave RSL

    Address: 1 Mast Gully Rd
    Upwey Victoria 3158

    Postal Address: PO Box 1106

    Upwey Victoria 3158

    Telephone: 03 9754 3665
    Facsimile: 03 9754 3447

    Melways: 75 A8 

    Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

    The Sub-Branch welcomes visitors and new members.

    Disabled Access Details

Event Info

  • Coming Events


    Click on the links below to view our coming events



    RSL events Facebook page 

    Opal Room Facebook page




    A great place to eat!

    Open for dinner Wednesday to Sunday from 6 pm

      Bookings for 15 or more, please book! 








Community Service Awards


On the 11th of March 2015, Jason Wood MP, Federal Member for La Trobe, made a special appearance at the Upwey Belgrave RSL to present two La Trobe community awards. The award is given to people, mainly volunteers, who go above and beyond to support our community, helping people young and old and donating their time for the better of our community. Around 50 RSL members turned up to pay their respects and show their support.

To begin the ceremony, a moments silence was conducted for the men and women who served for Australia during the war. Jason Wood MP presented the first La Trobe community award to Leigh Baker, the Museum Manager and one of the RSL’s hard-working volunteers. Leigh Baker has volunteered determinedly for over 12 years by supporting veterans and widows. The Running Rabbits Military Museum, located on the grounds of the RSL, wouldn’t be there if it weren’t for Leigh’s hard work and determination to recover important artefacts and discover information about Australia’s contribution to the war.

Educational tours are conducted for nursing homes, scout groups and schools, with help from other volunteers from the RSL, teaching the community about an important part of Australia’s history. Leigh also creates military reference kits and prepares educational talks for students. The Museum is open on Thursday from 10:00am to 12:00pm and on Sunday from 10:00am to 2:00pm, and guarantees to take you in an entertaining and emotional journey.

After the presentation, Mr Baker explained he felt surprised when he received a La Trobe community award, but it made him feel wonderful his efforts were being recognised. Leigh also acknowledges the work of the RSL is a team effort, and its success wouldn’t have been achieved without everybody’s individual efforts.

The second La Trobe community award was presented in recognition of Brian Neal, a member of the Army reserve as a level one Warrant Officer of 45 years’ Service, and a fire investigation officer for the CFA. Unfortunately, Brian was unable to make it do the presentation due to his Army commitments; however his efforts and hard work were still celebrated by the community and everybody who attended the presentation. Mr Neal is also in charge of the marshals for a section of the ANZAC Day parade at the Shrine of Remembrance, is on the committee for the Darwin Defenders, on the organising committee for the Police and Fire Services games, a volleyball referee and an active volunteer for the Upwey Belgrave RSL for the last 10 years. Mr Neal’s phenomenal achievements were well recognised during the ceremony.


After the ceremony, Mr Baker took Mr Wood MP to see the Howitzer located outside the RSL. The M2A2 105 millimetre Howitzer is a standard artillery weapon used by most field regiments of the Royal Australia Artillery (RAA) during the Vietnam conflict. It was introduced into the ADF service in 1967 and has served Australia for over 40 years. Today, the Howitzer is on display at the Upwey Belgrave RSL as a record of Australian Military History and a community to benefit the locals and serve as a memory. Photos were taken, stories were swapped and laughter filled the air as everybody paid their respects and congratulated both community award winners on their outstanding achievements.

Zoe Preston



DSC 0836 Small          DSC 0844 Small


DSC 0873 Small      DSC 0893 Small

© 2008 | Joomla 1.5 Templates by